Black Mirror

Some years ago, during Marvel’s Dark Reign story line, I envisioned a villain for that plot named “The Twisted Mirror” who, shapeless in and of itself, could become Villainous versions of heroes. For instance, face him up against Peter Parker, and he becomes the Dark Spiderman from Dark Avengers or Superior Spider-Man. Face him up against Wolverine, and he becomes Akihiro. Against Captain America, he’d turn into… well… I think Secret Empire answers that question well enough. What follows is a free verse adaptation of an evil speech originally written for him.

Interestingly, by omitting Marvel’s character names, the free verse version fits a much broader pool of relevant topics.

Sound off in the comments if you agree.


You don’t know who I am?
That’s sweet.
I’m you.
All of you.
I’m your reflection.
“The mirror does not reflect Evil
It only creates it.”
There is no truth to be found in the mirror,
Only distortion.
I am you, but only as you can see.
Everyone else sees the hero.
I know better.
I am the imperfection, the snarl beneath the skin.
I’m the gleam in your eye when you think nobody is looking.
A moment of real temptation:
That’s who I am.
I am every dark wonder you’ve had.
All of it made real.
Every single chink in your armor
Every weakness
Every character flaw
Magnified.
Drawn out.
Given a voice.
Given a face.
(That face is yours.)
I’m everything you fight in yourself every day;
Begging
Pleading
Kneeling on the floor of your heart
Praying that you will not become.
Well, I come with glad tidings!
Because the world doesn’t need you anymore.
They want me.
More precisely…
They want you
to become
Me.
I will not countenance a rival.
I am you, but you can’t be allowed to be me.
So, I’m afraid today is the day you must die.
But then, that’s every day for you, isn’t it?
Don’t worry.
The people will be well protected
by the Hero they want so very much.
I’ll give it to them.
And too late, they’ll realize what they actually asked for.
Too late they’ll realize I can’t be stopped or beaten.
Too late, they’ll realize they’ll have only me.
Forever.
Unless…
Perhaps you have something to say about that?

Leave a Reply

