For the love of god Blizzard, DROP COMPETITIVE MODE ALREADY

So I’ve made the very sad decision to abandon Overwatch. The game is good. The people playing it? Not so much. Ever since they put in Competitive play, it’s spread poor sportsmanship and Lunkheadedness like the fastest cancer I’ve ever seen.

I’ve tried to play Overwatch several times since Competitive Mode was introduced, but I just can’t get into it. Too many CompHeads are ruining the fun community feel that was abundant in the beta and at launch. Overwatch started as a fun, relaxed and friendly team shooter for the rest of us, but now it’s got the same kind of dickwads that infest the Halo and Call of Duty multiplayer modes, and muting them in-game solves nothing; they’ll FIND YOU on social media.

The atmosphere on the actual game is just toxic for me. People only care about Comp, and only care about anything else as how it relates to their Comp performance – even in arcade mode. I used to try just playing on the off-season where it should be more relaxed, but godfuckingdammit the lunkheads never take a break. They’re like those guys at the gym who grunt excessively and drop weights. Jumping to quick play or Arcade solves nothing: these guys are now the majority and are EVERYWHERE. Nowhere is safe.

It used to be that if you lost a couple of matches, there was an attitude of “Man, that fight was TENSE! Sucks that we lost again, but it’s okay. We’ll roll with the punches and get ’em next time.”

Now you hear “FUCK OH MY FUCKING GOD iAmLegend38! THIS IS ALL YOUR FAULT AND NOW I’M GONNA DROP DOWN TO GOLD TIER BECAUSE LOSSES ARE LITERALLY CANCER!”

To which you might respond: “…We’re in Arcade mode? There’s no ranking here.”

And then you hear back “IT DOESN’T MATTER! OUR LOSS WAS ALL YOUR FAULT AND NOW I’M NOT GONNA STOP LOSING.”

Firstly: I guess I missed the part where your failures were my problem.
Secondly: I’m really sad about this development because before comp was introduced, I’d never had more fun on a team shooter. Now I just don’t have fun at all.

Overwatch has stopped being fun, but it’s not the game’s fault. It’s the fault of guys who scream in chat and social media: ‘IF YOU DON’T LIKE COMP STOP PLAYING OVERWATCH YOU STUPID DICKSUCKING CUCK’.

Thanks to that attitude?
Yeah, I think I will stop playing. It’s  clearly not my home anymore.

And that’s genuinely sad because once upon a time, Overwatch had a great community. Dare I say it, it had the BEST community of any online shooter.

Dammit I miss the days of the beta.

Leave a Reply

