Premium is a bullshit descriptor

When it comes to phones anyway.

It’s kind of sad, but despite all the OEMs saying that a metal build (or even more horrific, a GLASS BACK PANEL!) feels the most “premium”, I still find myself wistfully holding my first gen LG Nexus 5 and first gen Moto X and acknowledging that these phones were the best feeling devices I’ve ever held. The first gen Nexus 5’s shape is still the coolest in my opinion: straight sides and that subtle science fiction curve at either end of the device is just classic and ageless. There’s a reason that shape is still used by so many app advertisements (the only shape used more frequently is that of the iPhone).

Granted, I don’t think that should be the shape of every Android phone, but in an age when many phones still boil down to “screen on a black or white slab”, I think we could stand to make that slab a little more eye catching.

And it and the 2013 Moto X were both made of plastic yet are some of the most comfortable devices to hold, and never once felt cheap. I think that skewers the present ideal among manufacturers about what “premium devices” should feel like (lots of glass and/or metal. Gods help you if you drop it onto a sidewalk and permanently get a jagged scuff on the metal or crack the back glass panel — something I have seen happen to a LOT of iPhones over the years). Plastic takes a drop better, and the 2013 Moto X had a metal frame BENEATH said plastic for extra rigidity, and mine has taken countless dives with only some minor scratches on the corners to show for it.

I think we ought to redefine what a “premium” feel means, and I think the secret to that lies in phones made in 2013.

Leave a Reply

