When it falls apart

Not everything lasts forever. Some things go bad within a very short span, and relationships have this power for evil more than most. We don’t always check our behaviors. Humans get so egocentric that we can’t see that the people around us are people too. At least, not until we hurt them. And I have stood silent and endured, allowed emotional ties to hold my tongue and tolerate, endlessly tolerate. But when you take the tolerance offered by my friends and mistreat them, you have crossed a line. Friends are like family that you chose. There’s a promise there, and you don’t break that promise without a damn good reason. And so when you choose to cross my friends, I will cut you loose as sure as if you’d treated my mother that way. My friends are my family, and the few of them I have I will fight to the death to defend.

One thought on “When it falls apart

Leave a Reply

