Bohemians, rejoice! NaNoWriMo is finally here!

So people in my class are talking about “no-shave November”. Ha. I laugh at your feeble attempts to be cool, you crazy wannabe bohemians.

The essence of being a TRUE bohemian is ART.

And what better way to be artistic than to join in the festiveness that is NaNoWriMo?

That’s National Novel Writing Month, for the uninitiated, by the way, and the goal is simple yet exceedingly difficult.

You get your 30 days to write a novel, with a minimum of 50,000 words.

Write fast, banish that inner editor, and if you can dream it, then pray tell why are you not writing it? Don’t worry about consistency! THAT’S FOR EDITING!

No, write fast, write creatively, and when you’re in a rut, have NINJAS BURST THROUGH THE DOOR!

My current project is a deviation from the norm: a book of poetry. Haikus, free verse, sonnets, etc. All my favorites will be represented.

And here’s the deal behind it. NaNo is all about having fun and being creative. It’s the ULTIMATE BOHEMIAN HOLIDAY, and it’s all November long!

Banish all pretentious thoughts, obscure bands and TV shows, horn rimmed glasses and your ironically chosen can of Pabst Blue Ribbon: join your fellow bohemians in a race to the finish line of creating something awesome, crazy, and totally you!

I’m not committing a novel to this race, because I’m pretty far along on drafting for a novel I hope to publish, and since it’s already past 70k, that would be bloody cheating now wouldn’t it? But at the same time, I can’t afford to devote my brain stuff thing resources to a separate novel (much as I’d like to; Livane will be an awesome project one day), but I must write something for NaNo or I’d never let myself hear the end of it, so poetry it is!

So, to kick off my first formal day of writing, I present a witty Haiku!

Earth sleeps under clouds


The snows not yet borne to ground


The Poet puts quill to page

Leave a Reply

